So, for a new class I’m having to work with a lot of audio. Podcasts, vlogs, video downloads etc. And they . . . just don’t work for me. I’ve been around tech for years , and I’ve been exposed to enough new types of tech to know that not everything works for everyone, and boy, is this not my learning method.

For one – I can read faster than you can speak, so anything work or school related that comes this way just seems inefficient to me. But it’s not just time – there’s something about the audio format that doesn’t pull me in. I get distracted, my mind wanders, in a way that doesn’t happen when I’m reading, or even watching a presentation. I’ll start clicking elsewhere, looking away, reading something else.

It’s not just podcasts – I don’t like audiobooks, I almost never listen to NPR. I’d rather watch the pitch-by-pitch cartoon updates on my blackberry then listen to a baseball game on the radio.

I’m hoping that having to take notes while listening should help. Video definitely does.  And I’m hoping that learning how to *create* the audio will help me learn how to listen to them. But I do think that some of this is just innate – some people are just visual, and not aural. I suppose that’s a good general lesson as well; a reminder that while some tools are great, not everything works for everyone, and you can’t expect students (or library patrons) to all react the same way.

About mkschoen

In my previous life, I was a reporter and editor covering technology and business for sites including eWeek, ZDNet and CNET News.com. Now I’m a student working towards a master’s in library science.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment